Excellence in Engineering and Geoscience Recognized at the 2001 APEGGA Summit Awards Gala

Over 1,000 guests attended the 2001 Summit Awards Gala, Thursday, April 26 at the TELUS Convention Center in Calgary. This event hosted by the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta (APEGGA) acknowledges outstanding individuals and corporate members for their accomplishments in engineering, geology and geophysics.

Nine awards were presented this year celebrating superior leadership, early accomplishment, technical and educational achievement, professional and community service, project innovation and distinguished service to the Association. For the first time, the APEGGA Environmental Excellence Award was bestowed. In addition to recognizing excellence, the awards raise awareness of and pride in these professions in the eyes of the business community, students, educators and the general public.

A newly created award was announced at the gala, the Research Excellence Award. This APEGGA Award is named after the Alberta Heritage Foundation for Science and Engineering Research (AHFSER). It will recognize professionals in academia or industry who have conducted innovative research in engineering, geology or geophysics where research has been successfully applied to improve economic and social well being.

Now in its eleventh year, the Summit Awards honor professional engineers, geologists and geophysicists whose determination, commitment and leadership has a significant and long-term impact on the professions, the Association and the communities in which they live. This year's theme, Beyond the Frontier, highlights the contributions these professionals have made in finding innovative and creative solutions which challenge convention.

2001 Summit Awards recipients:

APEGGA Centennial Leadership Award - David T. Lynch, P.Eng., Ph.D. (Edmonton) - For highest distinction to an executive or director of an outstanding project

APEGGA Honorary Life Membership S. E. (Sue) Evison, P.Eng. (Calgary) - For eminent service allied with the profession

APEGGA L.C. Charlesworth Professional Service Award - Robert Ross, P.Eng. (Edmonton) - For diligent service, substantial contributions and advancement of professional status

APEGGA Community Service Award Robert G. M. Brawn, P.Eng. (Calgary) - For outstanding contributions to society

APEGGA Early Accomplishment Award - Janet A. W. Elliot, P.Eng., Ph.D. (Edmonton) - For exceptional achievement in the early years of a professional career

APEGGA Excellence in Education Award - Gary Faulkner, P.Eng., Ph.D. (Edmonton) - For exemplary contributions to teaching and learning

APEGGA Frank Spragins Technical Service Award - S.M. Farouq Ali, P.Eng., Ph.D. (Edmonton) - For recognized integrity, expertise and outstanding accomplishments

APEGGA Environmental Excellence Award Edmonton Co-Composting Facility (Edmonton) - For environmental preservation and practice of sustainable development

APEGGA Project Achievement Award Dynastream Innovations Inc. (Cochrane) For substantial technological progress and betterment of society

Veritas Announces the Winner

Veritas is pleased to announce the winner of their CSEG booth draw for a Palm Vx handheld. Out of hundreds of business cards submitted over the three days of the Convention, the name drawn was David Middleton, an Application Specialist with Petro-Canada, Congratulations David!

Veritas Announces Petroleum Industry Course Carbonate Platforms, Facies and Diagenesis in Greenhouse and Icehouse Worlds

Dr. J. Fred Read, Professor of Geological Sciences, Virginia Tech will be teaching a three-day carbonate course at the Veritas DGC Inc. downtown office on June 26, 27 and 28, 2001.

The course is designed for those interested in developing and expanding their knowledge of carbonates. Upon completion of the carbonate course, participants will:

  • Have a working knowledge of the basic controls on carbonate sedimentation, carbonate rock types and classification; be able to recognize the basic types of carbonate platforms and their facies belts.
  • Obtain a working knowledge of sequence stratigraphy of carbonate platforms, how sequence boundaries, flooding surfaces, systems tracts and parasequences are recognized and their hierarchical arrangement.
  • Develop a better understanding of how global climate during greenhouse, transitional and Icehouse times, and accompanying sea level changes, affects the stacking of sequence and parasequences on carbonate platforms formed at these times.
  • Learn how subsurface high-resolution sequence stratigraphy of reservoirs at the subseismic scale can be obtained using cuttings and logs.
  • Have working knowledge of the basic types of porosity modifying processes and products of carbonate platforms.

Course fee: $900.00 (Canadian) plus GST. Group rates available. A complete set of course materials and lunches are included. Contact Veritas by phone at 403-205-6257, email lorelei_matthews@veritasdgc.com or visit our website at www.veritasdgc.com to register or for information on customized courses for your company's inhouse training requirements.

APEGGA Announces New President, Executive and Council

Dale Miller, P. Eng. was sworn into office as the new President of the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta (APEGGA) at the 2001 Annual General Meeting on April 27, 2001. Dale Miller has served the Association for over ten years, including his election to Council in 1994, and as first vice president in 2000.

The APEGGA Executive includes the President, 1st and 2nd Vice Presidents and Neil Windsor, Executive Director. Ron Tenove, P. Eng. was elected 1st Vice President and Mike Smyth, P. Eng. was elected 2nd Vice President.

Newly elected councilors include: Andrew Gilliland, P. Eng., Paula Harding, P. Eng., Dr. Robert Stewart, P. Geoph., Nick Trovato, P. Eng. and Ian Williamson, P. Eng. Councilors continuing in office include: Nima Dorjee, P. Eng., Shawn Morrison, P. Eng., Dr. Ken Porteous, P. Eng., Dr. Peter Putnam, P. Geol., Dr. Bill Roggensack, P. Eng., Ron Triffo, P. Eng., and Brenda Wright, P. Geol. Continuing public members include Hugh Planche and Judy Williams.

Atlas Copco Signs a Letter of Intent in Order to Purchase Layne/Christensen's Product Division, Christensen Products

Atlas Copco signs Letter of Intent in order to purchase the American company Layne/Christensen's, product division, Christensen Products, with a manufacturing plant located in Salt Lake City. The acquisition is in line with the division's strategy to expand the business in the mineral exploration field.

Layne/Christensen's product division is based in Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, is one of the world's leading manufacturers of diamond core drill equipment for the mineral exploration industry. The company has well-established manufacturing operations in Salt Lake City. Christensen will continue to operate with its existing company name on a worldwide basis.

Christensen Products is the sole supplier to the Layne/Christensen Contracting Group on a world-wide basis. As part of the pending purchase a supply agreement between Atlas Copco and Layne/Christensen Contracting will be consummated. The purchase is planned to be complete by June 1, 2001.



Share This Column